DIY Coffee Scrub

Processed with VSCOSo recently, there has been a new hype for this coffee scrub. If I’m not wrong, about a pack of this is about $25. The ingredients are not very significant or hard to get; just plainly ground coffee, coconut oil or olive oil, together with some sugar or salt depending on preference. So I was thinking, why not make one yourself instead of purchasing it! The amount that you get when you purchase those coffee scrubs isn’t exactly a lot; probably about 200g. Especially something that you use once and rinse off, you’ll be extremely wary on how much you use per session. This is extremely good if you would love to use it lavishly for your pamper sessions or simply your daily routine! Trust me, I am not shooting any of the companies down for selling something so simple at a high price; everybody has to make a living. But, there’s no harm in doing a simple little DIY!☺️

I decided to try this coffee scrub out because I have quite a mild to moderate eczema and I heard that coffee and coconut oil is really good for this condition. Coffee and sea salt have active ingredients, upon which the caffeine in the coffee can help eliminate cellulite and stretch marks! Coffee and coconut oil are also packed with antioxidants which are extremely good for ageing, tired skin. Double bonus!😃😃

To make this DIY coffee scrub, you’ll need:

  • 1 cup ground coffee
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 2 tablespoon of sea salt

In this scrub, I have chosen lavender sea salt which I already had.

I also used organic coconut oil that I have purchased previously from iHerb.

Processed with VSCO

You can used any ground coffee. For this, the coffee grounds has already been used. I feel it is better to utilise used ground coffee because if not you’ll create an incredibly huge mess and your shower floor will literally be saturated with coffee.

Processed with VSCO

NOTE: Do not use coffee powder. I did wonder if it’ll work the same but it’ll probably dissolve in the shower if it comes in contact with water.

Mix all the ingredients together in a large bowl then pour it into jar for storage.

Processed with VSCO

When I used this, I didn’t realise how messy it’ll turn out! The whole shower floor was covered in C O F F E E when I was rinsing it out. Make sure you get a drainage filter if not you’ll choke the drain. On a side note, my skin felt super hydrated and rejuvenated! The coffee grounds I used were pretty coarse so it really helped exfoliate the dry areas around my body.

The ingredients used are natural ingredients, so I know what I am using exactly on my body. My skin is extremely hypersensitive and purchasing skin products can be an issue. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who has sensitive skin and is a little bit skeptical in purchasing the ready made ones.

Thank you for reading, till next time!smiley-love017

Leave a Reply

