No looking back; but only moving forward.

“We keep moving forward, opening new doors, and doing new things, because we’re curious and curiosity keeps leading us down new paths.” – Walt Disney 

Today is officially the last day of Secondary 3. Yes indeed, I fear for the unexpected comings of next year, however, I will make next year 2012 a very memorable final year of my days in Crescent. The end-of-year holidays starts today; right now. I have pledged that I will make this holiday a very fruitful and meaningful one. I’ll re-revise my syllabus for this year as well as prepare for next year’s. Furthermore, I am hoping I would be able to see the lovely man I served during Serve the World and most importantly, grow a deeper relationship with God. I am very determined to start my 2012 right and with the right mindset.

“Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me…”– Psalm 23:4

I have faith in you, my Lord. I know that you will guide me to the right path and fulfil the deeds you have set for me. I know you will give me strength whenever I am weak and will comfort me when I am at my lowest. No doubt next year will be a very tough and tedious year, but right there in the middle of my heart, You are always there Lord, taking care of me and leading me to your light.

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.”Romans 15:13

28th October, 2011. This is the day where my House; Bronte House, claimed ownership of the title: House Champions 2011. The whole of Bronte’s House Leaders anticipated for the results. We waited anxiously and nervously with tears stinging in our eyes. Yes, we were that desperate to win this year. We foolishly thought about the feeling of devastation heartbreak if we didn’t win; we honestly put in our ultimate best throughout the whole of this year. When Fry House was announced 3rd position, my heartbeat accelerated a thousand times. Fry House was our main component; a flood of thoughts of possibilities rushed around in circles in my head. Next, Keller House was announced 2nd position. This was it.  It was only in a few moments time till we’d know whether our efforts had paid off. The few seconds felt like hours and my whole body started to tremble. Suddenly, the words  “BRONTE” rang in my ears like thunder and with no hesitation or shame, I rushed forward in front of the whole school to hug my House Mates in victory of the winning title. I cried and laughed as the adrenaline started to numb my body and we all fell to the ground as the hugging and jumping intensified. It was the best feeling I’ve had in a very long time. Finally, our efforts had paid off.

The feeling I experienced today, is the feeling I want to experience again next year when any form of test/exam results are revealed. I will work my braincells off in hope to excel for next year’s O’ Levels. I want to make myself proud; not my parents, not my friends. I want to fulfil my own goals and not others. I want to fulfil my own expectations and not others. It’s time I lived for myself and not for anyone else.

I believe I can do it. I can.

“A dream doesn’t become reality through magic; it takes sweat, determination and hard work.”

Leave a Reply

