To Accept, and be accepted.

He has shaped each person in turn; now he watches everything we do.”

I feel that many people; including me, we tend to have a rather low self esteem. We would think so lowly of ourselves that we’d shun off any compliments or any positive remarks that may make us seem better than what we actually really are. This, I feel, is usually due to strong constant negative remarks previously taken into heart or perhaps a broken relationship in our past that has plunged this mental aspect of ours. This makes us turn into someone else, someone different from who we are. In addition, it makes us fake, and unoriginal.

Acceptance comes in many forms and varieties; from the minor things in life like the colour of our hair, to the different types of people that leave and enter in our lives. However, life goes on. There would be no meaning to life if life was perfect. Neither would there be life if we knew exactly what the next event or happening was to occur.

Life’s a vicious cycle, you gain and lose some.”

Sometimes we’d just have to accept what happens. That’s just life. Whether it’s a very close friend or person that we lose, or a nasty remark someone has made to; we’d just have to accept it. Accept it and move on. There’s no point dwelling and grieving on it; it does not make life better. Instead, it makes life worse. What’s worse is that it is self infliction.

People from your past cannot hurt you unless you hold on to the pain through resentment.”

We don’t live in the past anymore; so there is no purpose in bringing up, neither is there a purpose of referring back to it unless it is of good use. Past is the past, the present is the present and the future is the future. However, identification of the future is pointless unless we know our present. Let go and learn from the past. Begin and focus on the present. Move on, and change for the better.

Life is full of ups and downs; it’s a rollercoaster ride. People will make countless negative remarks, and some positive. Emotions will overwhelm our souls to the very brim till we let them take over our lives. This is where acceptance comes in. Breathe, and take them in calmly. Things will not get better if irrational behavior were to take place.

Being controlled by the opinions of others is a guaranteed way to miss God’s purposes for your life.”

Insecurity also plays a major part in life. As a girl with big insecurities and over-sensitivity, I tend to feel very insecure with myself; as if I am not good enough for anyone or anything. Parents brought me down as well as people in my past. I have learnt to accept that my parents are just plainly being over protective and I love them for that. They are much more experienced in the cliché events of life and so they are the ones I look up to and obey. However, people in my past who’ve brought me down are the ones who made me finally think that I am better than what I actually thought I was.

The people from your past are in your past for a reason. They never were and never will be worth being in your future.”

Not only have they made me emotionally stronger, but they have also made me more independent. I used to rely on them for happiness as well as for emotional support. They were my backbone. I couldn’t live without them.

That all changed.

I realized that God made me for a purpose. It was wrong of me to impress those who were the closest so that they’ll stay and never leave my side. That all brings back to acceptance. If we were to reject any part of ourselves, we are rejecting our creator’s wisdom and sovereignty. Neither do we bring glory to Him by hiding our abilities or trying to be someone else. Our imperfections make us perfect in being who we are. No one is perfect and God does not expect us to be perfect, otherwise we’d be like Him. However, He does delight in every detail of our lives.

“Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid.”               -Albert Einstein

We have to trust that our creator; our God, has everything planned for us. No one knows our ability and capability as well as He does. If anything in life is seen to be difficult or impossible, trust God and go through the obstacle step by step. He will not put us in a situation where he knows we are not capable of.

Just pray, and most importantly, pray with the mentality that you will get through. There’s no point praying if you know you won’t make it through or it won’t happen.

“Lord, you know the hopes of the helpless. Surely you will hear their cries and comfort them.”                                                                        -Psalm 10:17

Leave a Reply

