Only the Beginning.

“Pain makes you stronger. Tears makes you braver. Heartbreaks makes you wiser. So thank the past for a better future.”

I came across this quote earlier this morning while scrolling down on my dashboard on Tumblr. I feel that this has so many relations to the previous events that has occurred in my life, and honestly, those times are the worst that I have ever experienced.

I used to have a very negative and pessimistic attitude to anything if I were to stumble across any obstacles, which afterwards I’ll constantly grieve and reminisce over it till it gets better. However, overtime I started on this book called The Purpose Driven by Rick Warren. Despite being only on the seventh day due to preparations of End of Years, it has honestly changed my opinion towards the true meaning of life.

On the second day of reading it, it taught me that “We are products of our past, but we don’t have to be prisoners of it”. Yes, I may unconsciously start thinking about the past while doing my work, or perhaps while listening to a song which reminds me of it. However, I will not let it control me and override my feelings for my better future ahead.

A very close friend of mine told me yesterday, “The future is scary, but you can’t just run back to the past because it’s familiar. Yes, it’s tempting; but it’s a mistake.” That has made me realise how important it is to not linger onto the past just because you were so used to it, and it tells me that there is a a way out; the light that leads you to the very end of the tunnel. 

I end with this quote:

“Those who have hurt you in the past cannot continue to hurt you now unless you hold on to the pain through resentment. “

Life will always be full of memories and there will always be some which we will keep close to our hearts; but do not let them become a hindrance to your next big step in life.  There will be people that have hurt you too, but do not hold a grudge against them. Instead, thank them for helping you learn, so your mistakes can be polished for you to move on to a brighter and better future.


Leave a Reply

